GroVia Kiwi Pie Fitted Review

 

2013-10-15_0010 - Copy

GroVia’s Kiwi Pie fitted diaper is one I’ve had in my cloth diaper stash for quite a while and one that I have really enjoyed.  I hope you find this review informative and very helpful!

*Please note that the diaper pictured in this review was purchased by me and neither myself nor Michelle have received any sort of compensation for this review.  The thoughts and opinions expressed here are our honest opinions.

 


OverviewDSC_5680
OVERVIEW
Brand:  
Kiwi Pie
Style:  
Fitted
Material:   
50% Micromodal/50% pima cotton 
Closure:
 Snap
Sizing:  Fits most babies 10-35lbs
Price:  
$27.00
Made:
in the USA

Description from GroVia’s Website:

Kiwi Pie is GroVia®’s nod to old school cloth diapering that incorporates modern materials and luxurious style. Sewn right here in the United States, key elements for Kiwi Pie are milled here at home.

Inner Body: 50% Micromodal/50% pima cotton | Print Layer: 100% cotton

What makes MicroModal™ so special?

  • Modal comes from Beech trees
  • It is 50% more hygroscopic (water-absorbent) per unit volume than cotton
  • It stays soft wash after wash
  • It is more resistant to mineral deposits from hard water
  • Includes two 4-layer soakers that can be used apart or together, depending on absorbency needs
  • REQUIRES A COVER.  Your favorite GroVia Shell or Kiwi Pie Wool Cover will work perfectly!

Design
GroVia Kiwi Pie fitted diapers feature vibrant prints your little one will love.  The 50% Micromodal/50% pima cotton blend material is soft to the hand and easy to care for.  On the front, you’ll notice a snap down rise so you can customize the size to fit your baby’s needs as he/she grows.
FRONT:

2013-10-15_0014

BACK:

2013-10-15_0015

Top left:  Back of diaper   Top Right:  View of stride/crotch of diaper
Bottom left:  Side view of diaper        Bottom Right:  View of waist

As you can see, the entire diaper has been serged rather than turned and top-stitched.  Serged diapers provide excellent stretch and flexibility which of course lends to a better fitting diaper.  Serging also tends to be gentler on little legs and waists than turned & topstitched diapers with encased elastic.  However, there are a small number of babies with extra-sensitive skin that experience irritation (redness) due to the serging.  The serged edges of the Kiwi Pie are exceptionally soft, so I would guess that the chances of irritation due to the serging would be very low.
2013-10-15_0003 - Copy

TOP:  Front panel of the GroVia Kiwi Pie.  There is a single row of snaps across the waist and one set of rise snaps.

Bottom:  Back waist panel of the GroVia Kiwi Pie.  You can see the snaps on either side of the wings, with the cross over snap sockets on the right tab.
2013-10-15_0009

 

Oh SNAP!   The GroVia Kiwi Pie fitted features snap closures, which are GREAT because they are durable, look nice over the life-span of the diaper and are very unlikely to wear out.  And, in the rare case that one falls off after the warranty expires, snaps are actually quite easy & quick to replace.

Why no option for velcro closure?  I can’t say for sure, but my guess is that it’s because more often than not, velcro/hook & loop closures not only wear out faster than snaps, but they also tend to be problematic when washing the diaper and have a tendency to snag the material of the diaper and make it look pilly and icky.

You’ll notice in the photo on the bottom left that the snaps are configured so that the wing tabs can cross over one another to provide a snug fit on smaller babies…AND…cross-over snaps are FABULOUSO because it’s very easy to bundle up a poopy diaper and snap it shut.  You can’t do that with snaps that don’t cross-over on the wings!  Huge bonus in my book…especially if you happened to forget your wetbag and your precious babe gifts you with a stinky diaper when you’re out and about (not that I would ever forget my wetbag…cough, cough!)
2013-10-15_0002 - Copy

LEFT:  View of outstretched diaper from the outside
RIGHT:  View of outstretched diaper from the inside; with soakers attached.

2013-10-15_0004 - Copy

LEG ELASTIC:  Kiwi Pie fitteds feature a very unique leg elastic style.  The leg opening is serged and the elastic is secured NOT in a casing as is most common, but by zig-zag stitching it into place.  This seems to ensure a very gentle, yet secure enclosure that is soft and comfortable.

2013-10-15_0008DSC_5690

SOAKERS (aka: Inserts)

The Kiwi Pie inserts are made up of two, 4 layer soakers which can be used together for maximum absorbency; or they can be used individually for a trimmer fit with lighter absorbency.  This feature provides you with the benefit of being able to customize both the fit and absorbency to meet the unique needs of your situation (daytime, naptime, night time etc.).

LEFT: The inside of the diaper without the soakers.  As you can see, there are no snap sockets for the soakers.  You simply lay them atop the inside of the diaper.

RIGHT:  Here the soakers have been set on top of the inside of the diaper (I spread them apart so you could see both of them).

2013-10-15_0005

LEFT:  Top inside of diaper
RIGHT:
 Bottom inside of diaper
2013-10-15_0007


LEFT:  The two soakers can be snapped together and used at the same time; or you can separate them and only use one.  I imagine that if you needed lighter absorbency during the day, you could use just one of the soakers and save the other one to use at night time in addition to the two soakers, giving you a total of 3 soakers for super absorbency!

RIGHT:  The underside of the soakers is the natural micromodal/cotton fabric.
2013-10-15_0006

 

Performance

Kiwi Pie Fitted  Evaluation/Review by Haute Clothed Buns team member Michelle.

Baby J’s size:  24mos, 36”, 33lbs

How does it fit through the rise? Across the bum? Through the crotch? Around the thighs?  Generous, but trim fit across the bum. Trim through the crotch. The way the elastic is serged on the thighs allows for an adjustable, snug fit. Rise hits just below the belly button.

 Did you find this diaper to be trim? Average? Bulky?
For a fitted, these are very trim.

Does the bulk hind or impede mobility in any way?
No.

 ABSORBENCY

Is your child a light, medium or heavy wetter?  Medium

Did the diaper leak? If so describe (where, was it recurring, etc.).

No.

Does the diaper work for daytime? Naptime? Overnight?  We used this diaper for both daytime and naptime with no issues. During the day, he went about 3 hours before it started to feel damp on the outside. For naptime, we used a wool cover with no leaks. It is not quite absorbent enough for a nighttime diaper for us (we used it with a wool cover, and had some compression leaks in the morning) It might have been ok had we added a doubler.

 Did you need to add additional absorbency for naps or night? What did you use?  No additional absorbency needed for naps.

How does it compare absorbency wise to other diapers you’ve used?  This diaper is just as absorbent as some other AIOs we have tried (GroVia and Swaddlebees Simplex)

 PREFERENCES

What did you like?  Natural fibers, option of using 1 or 2 inserts, cute prints, the elastic at the leg holes and the back, good absorbency, dries quickly.

What did you dislike? The inserts lay flat in the diaper, and after moving around for a couple hours, they bunched up in the crotch, and he kept tugging at it. I think this could be solved if the inserts snapped in.

What improvements would you like to see in this diaper?
Snap in inserts.

 Would you recommend it to a friend? Why or why not?  Yes, I would recommend this diaper. Trim, absorbent, adorable prints.

PRICING

Is the price fair? Too High?  I feel the price is average for a quality fitted.

Fit

Baby J’s size:  24mos, 36”, 33lbs

2013-10-15_0013 - Copy 2013-10-15_0012 2013-10-15_0011

Conclusion

The GroVia Kiwi Pie is a fitted I (Anna) have used on my daughter and I really, really liked it.  It’s soft and I found that it stayed soft for as long as we owned it (my daughter has since potty trained).  It fit my daughter well and it was a great option for a daytime & naptime fitted.  Alone it wasn’t quite enough for overnight, but with an additional insert, it worked perfectly.   This is a fitted diaper so it DOES require a cover.  We preferred to use it with wool (I like GroVia’s Kiwi Pie wool soaker or Sustainablebabyish wool longies), but you can use it with waterproof covers as well.

The diaper is made very well and should you encounter a problem, I can personally vouch for the customer service of GroVia & their warranty–provided you have followed the care instructions. For a high quality, natural fiber fitted with cute prints, I find the Kiwi Pie to be competitively priced; I am aware of few other fitteds with these criteria that cost less.  However, there are more basic fitteds available for less if cost is a concern to you.

As you read in Michelle’s evaluation, Michelle finds that the Kiwi Pie is a trim, absorbent quality fitted that is fairly priced, making it a diaper she would recommend to a friend.  I do agree with Michelle’s assessment that the diaper could be improved by adding snap-in soakers so that they don’t shift while being worn by an active baby, but other than that, I think this is an awesome fitted that I highly recommend as well!

Not sure where to buy one?  Below are links from three of my favorite places to buy cloth diapers.  Shopping through these affiliate links also helps to support this blog and offest the costs of running it  :)

Curious About Cloth Kit!


This entry was posted in Fitted Diapers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GroVia Kiwi Pie Fitted Review

  1. Natalie Weaver says:

    Great review, ladies!

I'd love to hear your questions, comments and suggestions!